Authors Who Turned Me into a Writer-Part 2 of Why I Write

Earlier I spoke about the authors who turned me into a reader. Well, that was only the beginning. I’ve evolved. Certain authors pushed me into the world of story creation. Now, I’m a writer. And these are the authors who turned (cursed?) me.

Authors who turned me into a writer, a list of authors who encouraged me to write

Neil Gaiman

American Gods, a novel by Neil Gaiman

I have so much to say about Neil Gaiman. So. Much. He taught me the beauty of simplicity in story telling. You don’t have to describe every article of clothing. Every hair on the main character’s head. If you have a STORY, you can have a book. Every one of his works are solid, unique, stylized, and gorgeously creative. I own this man a lot. His ideas are not only original, but he owns them. He commits to every character, theme, and sentence. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again, Gaiman never disappoints.

Anne Rice

Interview with a Vampire, a vampire novel by Anne Rice

 

Where Gaiman taught me simplicity, Anne Rice taught me the art of description. Her work (The Vampire Chronicles specifically) has a flowery, artsy, romantic style of writing that would normally turn readers off. BUT IT WORKS. Or rather, she makes it work. She has the ability to beatify her characters. She just loves them. You can tell. You can feel it. She knows them, and loves them, and it makes her stories lovely. The Vampire Lestat tops my list of favorite fictional characters. And the way Rice writes about him, I’m not convinced he isn’t real. These novels showed me you can write with voice and adoration for your characters. So grateful for her.

Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker's Guid to the Galaxy, science fiction books by Douglas Adams

This guy, though! If there’s anything Douglas Adams taught me, it’s honesty. His writing is so on point it almost makes me sick. He has a way of explaining a feeling with pure, brutal, honesty. Funny. Relevant. Dead on. He can truly define the undefinable. I come back to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy time and time again just to smile and nod. Every time I read ANYTHING by him I think “Yes! You’re right! That’s exactly what that feels like!”

I found myself applying this idea in my paranormal series. My style is a little more… I don’t know… unfiltered candor. But I really believe writing should be sincere. Adams helped me find genuine honesty in my own writing. And I love him for it.

Plus, comedy is HARD. I think that’s one of the most difficult styles of writing to master. And he is effortless with it.

Dan Brown

The Da Vinci Code a thrilling novel by Dan Brown

Say what you want about “controversy” or “inaccuracies”. I don’t care. Not even a little bit. Dan Brown can captivate. He takes cliffhanger to a whole new level. Some of his books I’ll get genuinely angry at, because it’s cliffhanger after cliffhanger and I just can’t stop! He forces me to keep going. His stories are riveting and enthralling. It’s inhuman the way he can suck me in. Witchcraft I tell you! But man… did I learn about how to keep a reader hooked. His books start with a million questions, and each time you get an answer, your questions triple. At least. Deeper and deeper you go down the rabbit hole until you feel like you can’t breathe.

It’s awesome.

R.L. Geerdes

Wizards Secrets a fantasy novel by R.L. Geerdes

R.L. Geerdes may be unknown to you. She wrote a fantasy series that was pretty good. She actually writes under a different name now, and is quite successful. But I need to speak to you about when she was R.L. Geerdes. Woo! Story time!

I know her personally. And while that isn’t reason enough to call someone “inspiring” she truly did inspire me. She taught me that if you want to write, you write. She went for it. Now, she’s writing full time. She’s a success. I met with her when I was first thinking of writing. She gave me some great resources and advice. But, I gotta say, it was her meeting with me in the first place that I found encouragement. She had two novels out, and took time from her life to meet with little ol’ me. She was so kind and motivating. I was so pleased that she’d offer to help. I owe her a ton. She really set me on the path.

If you want to write… write. You don’t wait for someone to tell you it’s okay. You don’t wait for an opportunity. You sit your ass down, and do it. Now, she didn’t actually say these words to me. Her attitude did. She knew very little about me. But, she knew the importance of writing. Of a dream. She was willing to help. This showed me that if you want to write. You go and you do it. Your dream is worth it.

Inspirational and motivational writing advice quote by K.D. Reed
(Click to Tweet!)

 

Also, and this is just a side note, this was my first taste of the writing community. My first experience dealing with the beautiful village of writers. What it means to be a part of this circle. I’ve had amazing results every time I’ve reached out to the writing community. We are a bunch of crazy, creative, kind, and generous people. And I am honored to be counted among you.

Stacy Lynn Carroll

My Name is Bryan an inspiring novel by Stacy Lynn Carroll

Stacy is also someone I know personally. We carpooled in middle school. Not kidding. However, this is not a moment of promotion for my friend. This is me saying Stacy Lynn Carroll taught me one of the most valuable things of my career. Don’t wait. Write. Publish. Live your dream.

Boom. That’s it. Now, don’t get me wrong. She’s a talented writer. I’ve loved all of her stuff. I’m going to be gifting her books to people for Christmas this year. She’s awesome and you should read her stuff. My point, for this post at least, is that she was the first writer to show me that indie-publishing isn’t something “desperate” people do.

When I first heard she was going to “self-pub” I was confused. My pea-brain thought that was only for authors who felt they’d been rejected one too many times. It was a way for them to say they were published without actually being published. I WAS THE WRONGEST WRONG PERSON OF ALL THE WRONG PEOPLE.

I read up on self and/or indie publishing and learned a thing or two…

  1. You have so much more control over your content
  2. You are the only one in charge of your career
  3. You can make MORE money indie-publishing than traditional publishing
  4. You don’t have to do what you don’t want to do

And that’s just the beginning. Carroll taught me that if I wanted a career, I could go get one. She taught me not to wait. Do it. Write your book. Publish your book. You. Just. Do. It.

Boom.

Here I am, years later, with mad respect for my dear friend, and a writing career of my own. I am so thankful for her and her amazing example

Now, I’m a writer. 

Kevin a science fiction book by author K.D. Reed     Demonic Illusions by K.D. Reed a paranormal romance and horror book series

Demonic Impulse a paranormal romance and horror book by K.D. Reed  Haunted a paranormal romance and horror book by K.D. Reed  Hell's Princess a paranormal romance and horror book by K.D. Reed

Thanks to the gorgeous people above, I’m a writer. Certain authors helped me love books, and these writers helped me create them. I write. I’m a writer.

And I love it.

Leave a Reply

