Pinterest & Me

I am quite the Pinterest user. I’m on it all the time. Some say it’s an unhealthy addiction, but I don’t heed that kind of toxic talk. They’re just jealous of my awesome Pinterest skills.

Any who! The point is, I use it frequently when writing to stir up my creative juices. It helps to look at what I’m talking about. Let me illustrate that point a little:

I have many Pinterest boards for my books. I have a New York board for Kevin, I have a complete collection of what seems like randomness to others for Maia, and I have a Delilah board for my Demonic Illusions series.

Delilah is the demon in the series (debuting  in Demonic Impulse due out this weekend, January 9th) and she’s really fun. To help me understand/visualize/have more fun with her, I created a Pinterest board to refer to. It’s great! I can pin things I want to mention about her. I can go back to it, and remind myself about a certain trait. Sometimes, I just scroll through it, to kick off the dust if it’s been a few days since I visited her story.

It’s not just Sam’s story, it’s her story too. That’s what makes this book so great. There’s double, almost conflicting, views to everything.

The point of me prattling on about all of this is twofold:

  1. As a writer, Pinterest can be an awesome tool. I highly recommend it to others for help. Also, it’s a fun way to explore your character, settings, or to find all sorts of writing advice. I’m there all the time for work related pins.
  2. If you want, you can check out my aforementioned boards, or just get to know me a little better, or follow me. I’m quite active there.

Here’s an example:

Delilah Eye

That’s a cool inspiration image I found for Delilah.

Fire Escape

This set me in the perfect mood when I was revising Kevin.

Thumbelina and Swallow

I love this. Maia is a retelling of Thumbelina. This illustration warms my heart, since my focus often centers on her relationship with the swallow. So great.

You get the idea. (And you can click the images to view the Pinterest boards.)

Keep an eye out for Demonic Impulse. I’m really excited, and quite proud of it. And fellow writers, do try Pinterest for career related assistance. I cannot rave about it enough.

 

Leave a Reply

